Small Scale Miners in Ghana prepare to benefit from World Bank GASMFP and Government’s MMIP/LECITA

The unbridled informal mining activities and the associated environmental degradation in Ghana necessitated a prolong governmental ban on all artisanal and small scale mining activities in the country. This temporarily provided improvements in the country’s water bodies.

Unfortunately, the situation today appears to be worse than before the ban. Consequently and in search for a more permanent solution, the Government of Ghana’s Multi-Sectoral Mining Integrated Project (MMIP) and the Project Appraisal and Implementation Document (PAID) based on its Legislation, Enforcement, Civil, Integrated and Technological Adaptation (LECITA) are models being developed to be implemented to help sanitize the small-scale mining sector; perhaps once and for all. This is in tandem with the World Bank’s initiative dubbed Ghana ASM Formalization Project (GASMFP).

Though some stakeholders  are skeptical and are yet to fully understand and situate the MLNR Community Mining Law in all these developments, the largest stakeholder, the Ghana National Association of Small Scale Miners (GNASSM), who unfortunately bore the biggest brunt of the ban, has braced herself to be in a position ready to meet any accruing benefits from these project initiatives.

In spite of being equally confronted with the limitations of Covid-19, GNASSM held elections to elect new executives to steer affairs for the new and impending GASMFP-MMIP implementation era. According to a June 9 memo circulated by Nii Adjetey-Kofi Mensah, ETMT Communications, Mr. Philip Akuffo (aka. Unbeatable) was truly unbeatable. He beat fellow contestant Mr. Emmanuel Yirenkyi Antwi to win GNASSM President by 160 votes to 57 votes respectively; clocking 73.7% of valid votes cast. Godwin Nickleson Amarh maintained his position by beating Stephen Baidoo to General Secretary with 184 votes to 33 votes; clocking 84.8% of valid votes cast. On National Organizer, Alhaji Baba Ahmed beat Philip Bawah by 159 votes to 60 votes; clocking 72.6% of valid votes cast. Lastly, on National Financial Director, Francis Opoku beat Nana Meisu Adu by 149 votes to 70 votes, clocking 68% of valid votes cast.

To list GNASSM National Executives, out of the nine (9) National Executive positions, five (5) Candidates were sole Contestants, therefore declared unopposed.
1. President: Philip Akuffo
2. Vice President: Sampson Kofi Wiredu
3. General Secretary: Godwin Nickleson Amarh
4. National Organizer: Alhaji Baba Ahmed
5. National Treasurer: Nana Akosoa Agyeiwa (aka. Mama Janet)
6. National Communication Director: Abdul Razak Alhassan
7. National Financial Director: Francis Opoku
8. National Technical Director: Joseph Blankson Aidoo
9. National Women Coordinator: Victoria Adobea Guerrieri (Mrs).

Wish them the very best too.

Start a live chat
Need assistance ?